DIY leucodendron fresh flowercrown photoshoot

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Leucadendron Fresh Flower Crown

One of my best friends recently became an Australian citizen at a ceremony on January 26th. With permission, I took home one of the numerous leftover bunches of native flowers from the townhall. I initially intended to make this flower crown with silver eucalyptus leaves as well, but I found the leucadendrons to be rich and full enough on their own.

As per usual, I used a base of fresh, de-leaved vine (this time was star jasmine, with its sticky white sap washed off, of course) and secured the leucadendrons with wire.

DIY leucodendron fresh flowercrown photoshoot

I don’t normally wear full-length dresses (nor sleeveless for that matter), but I felt the colours and tribal print of this maxi dress matched the leucadendrons perfectly. My sister-in-law and I chose this nearby park for convenience- fortunately for us, there were still a number of lush reeds growing near the duckpond, despite the hot, dry Australian summer!

DIY leucodendron fresh flowercrown photoshoot

This is also be my first and last photoshoot of 2018 with my sister-in-law… because she and my brother are going traveling for a year! (Follow them on instagram (@nathanandpk) or their blog (https://nathanandpk.com/)) I should focus on my studies anyway, as I am currently on placement at a rural hospital for my penultimate year of medical school- come 2019, I will have passed my final barrier exams and be just one year away from being a doctor! :O If anything however, I will find the time in the country a good opportunity to find time for blogging!

Leave a comment