FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

Apologies for the absence, but I’m still crafting and flower-crowning and music-ing!

Despite focusing primarily on my day-job these past two years, I still enjoy my “night-job” of DJing for weddings. It’s fun to see different venues and wedding decor and dresses, and it’s also really special to be a part of a couple’s special day, celebrating their love and commitment for each other. I love looking at the flowers, and at the end of the night I end up taking home some beautiful blooms (the couples readily give them to me, as they will be discarded otherwise)

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

In early 2020, the way we celebrate changed dramatically, and I didn’t work for several months (which probably worked out, as I had recently graduated and commenced full-time work at the hospital) It was only in October that year that I would DJ my first wedding since the COVID-19 pandemic started. It was a lovely wedding, and the floral arrangements were lovely to match. I of course, took some home with me and after enjoying their beauty for a few days, crafted a flower crown from them.

The table settings consisted of roses and carnations in muted pinks, punctuated by bursts of colour by burnt orange gerberas and white snapdragons.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

As usual, I used young vines to make a circlet as a base, and then carefully woven the flower stems into a crown. This method uses minima (if any) florist tape or wire depending on the choice of blooms.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

I paired a short studded cap-sleeve, pink crepe dress with a borrowed chiffon waterfall skirt over the top. Tailor’s Tip: The skirt waist was too big for me, so I used bobby pins/snap hair clips to create a temporary box pleat at the back! I love using this technique when permanently taking the waist in isn’t an option.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

My sister-in-law PK was again my lovely photographer. We simply hiked up the lookout near our houses- it was fun (but slightly itchy!) sitting amongst the tall spring grass. It was worth the beautiful views and Golden Hour lighting. I practiced my “Runway Look”, but as you know, I won’t share my progress for privacy reasons.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

I remember feeling a bit sad and wistful at that wedding- I had recently said goodbye to someone important to me, and making plans to move away from my hometown for a year. I felt a bit lonely, and jealous of the couple. They had been dating several years since moving from their respective country towns to the city for university, and I remembering thinking “How special it is, to marry your best friend.” My friend consoled me at the time “Don’t worry, that’ll be you someday, I’m sure.” I believed her because I love and admire her so, but words like that are also somewhat empty- how does anybody truly know what the future holds but God alone?

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: DIY Fresh Rose and Carnation Flower Crown

I ended up staying to be with my family and with someone I really care about (ultimately a practical choice given the ongoing spread of COVID into 2021). It was one of the best choices I’ve ever made, and last year proved to be a fruitful and love-filled time for me. And as I grow in maturity and confidence as person and a professional, it’s easier to believe her words as my own reality.

Leave a comment