FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

Hello hello! If you’ve been following my Insta, you may recall a photo I shared of my street in the 2014.

Every spring, without fail, the little plum trees lining my avenue slowly erupt into a glorious bloom of pale pink blossoms. It is really a sight to behold, and its also fun to see their tiny petals gather along the roadside with each passing day as I walk to and from the bus stop. So last September (2016) I couldn’t resist but to make a cherry blossom flower crown.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

I roamed my local neighbourhood for flower-laden trees and carefully cut twigs with multiple blossoms; unlike my past experience with jacarandas, it was much easier to find low-hanging branches!

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

Again, I made a green vine circlet as a base, and then wove my blossom twigs into it, securing with florist wire as needed. Blossoms are quite difficult to work with, as their fragile petals (or even the whole bloom) falls off with even the slightest pressure.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

In keeping with a sakura flowercrown, I styled it with a kimono (a yukata that my sister-in-law received as a gift and subsequently shortened to jacket-length to make it more versatile for everyday wear) and a pair of high-waisted lace shorts. I wanted to go for a more modern, relaxed Japanese-inspired look rather than completely traditional Japanese dress.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

Whenever my sister-in-law and I do these photoshoots, it’s not simply “Oh, E made a flowercrown, let’s just chuck on some complimentary-coloured clothes and snap a few pics”. Ok, well, it’s mostly that, but I also like to have fun with picking an emotion or a theme to go along with it, something like a director would call for a film shoot. On this day, I played around with two ideas: playful Festival poses (… I was reading a lot of shoujo manga at the time, and dressing up in yukata for a Festival date and appearing all sparkly in front of the leading man is a staple trope), and a more brooding Shrine Maiden idea. They were quite fantastical and loosely done (it’s not like I was following a strict cultural/historical theme, but rather just a romanticised mood)

FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

Anyway, I was really in love with my blossom crown, but was a bit sad to not have any special events to wear it to. So I decided “Why not wear it to uni on Monday?” At first I was hindered by the idea of everyone judging me and thinking “Omg, why is she drawing attention to herself by wearing a flowercrown to uni?” but then I decided, “You know what, I enjoyed making this, people know I make a lot of these, and wearing this will make me happy.”And upon arriving for my 8am tute, everyone I ran into was super nice about it and smiled at the sight of fresh flowers.

So as long as your motivation isn’t prideful, I think it’s fine to be a little bit out there and wear something exciting to brighten up your Monday mornings 😀

Also, I learnt how to make gifs (badly)! Check it! B)
FUNNY HAT FRIDAYS: Sakura Cherry Blossom Fresh Flowercrown

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

