FUNNY HAT FRIDAY: Jacaranda fresh flower crown

FUNNY HAT FRIDAY: Jacaranda Fresh Flower Crown

‘When the bloom of the jacaranda tree is here, Christmas time is near”
——– ‘Christmas Where The Gum Trees Grow’ by Val Donlan and Lesley Sabogal

It’s that time of year again in Australia where all the Jacaranda trees are crowned in vivid bursts of violet flowers. It’s truly a glorious sight to drive down a road lined either side by the beautiful trees. While driving around, I kept my eyes peeled for trees with fresh blooms and low-lying branches, perfect to harvest for another Funny Hat Friday.

This was my first time using fresh flowers (in the past I have either used fake flowers or leaf branches). I took a flexible green vine to make a circlet/wreath as a base; then, using florist wire, I carefully wove jacarandas flowers and fronds into a flower crown.

FUNNY HAT FRIDAY: Jacaranda fresh flower crown FUNNY HAT FRIDAY: Jacaranda fresh flower crown FUNNY HAT FRIDAY: Jacaranda fresh flower crown FUNNY HAT FRIDAY: Jacaranda fresh flower crown

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Funny story: When picking trees to harvest, I found the perfect one; on my own street, very low branches, full of flowers. I asked my Mum whether it was on council property along the road, or within someones frontyard (there was no fence, but it was an ambiguously large distant from the road.) She reassured me that it was public, but as soon as I pulled out my secateurs, she called me back: “That little old lady in the car is staring at you, so maybe do it later.”

The lady went into the house, and I was subsequently to scared of being scolded, and too embarrassed to ask her permission (“Hello! I’m that girl from earlier who was trying to steal your flowers, only now I’m asking permission to! Haha?”) So, like the coward I was, I instead recruited my dad to drive me to other trees and use his height to assist my harvest (Go Dad!)

Unfortunately, jacarandas have quite pulpy, thick petals, which meant that the flower crown began to wilt quite rapidly without a constant water supply. But they truly are beautiful, definitely one of the my favourite parts of November/December, and one of my favourite DIYs xx

2 comments

Leave a Reply

