Storing your jewellery

I wasn’t always into it, but now I do like jewellery. In a way, jewellery shoppings way easier than clothes shopping. Less worry about fit and comfort, it’s generally cheaper than a dress so there’s less worry about the price, and since you don’t wear it as frequently as clothing (I do hope that you wear clothing on a daily basis…) you don’t have to worry about having spares and double ups since it’s easier to have ONE nice silver necklace, a few nice gold bangles, etc.

Storing can be a problem sometimes though. Darn tangled chains.

I myself use 2 of those, what I call, ‘Jewellery Hatstands.’ You know the kind I’m talking about? Those one’s that look like hatstands for 30cm tall people. One is just an ordinary metal one my mother gave to me, and I use it for bracelets and a few necklaces.

The other was concocted by
. Using a Converse Shoe I made from corrugated cardboard in Year 8 Art (I finished my rocket early, so me and my friend started making shoes) I rolled up some old grey foam from some packaging, put it inside the shoe and stuffed a dried branch I got from my nectarine tree. It didn’t quite have enough little twiggy bits to hang my rings perfectly, so I broke some toothpicks and used my Ol’ Buddy, PVA Glue and got to work. Voila!

My sister is far more organised than me. Plus she has her ears pierced and thus has earrings. ∴she has much more sophisticated ways of storing her jewellery (it’s simple maths people)

And her solution? Her notice board above her dressing table. Alors:

 Above: She pinned some old curtain tape lying around our house and hooked her hook earrings through the loops of string

Left:
Step 1. Stick a pin in your noticeboard.
Step 2. Hang necklaces.

Actually, I’m a cheat. I hang my nice necklaces in my sister’s room, coz I know they’ll be safer there…  The peacock and the watch? Those are mine 😀

Now here’s the brilliant one. My sister salvaged a what I think is an old hearing aid storage box from my mother, whose an audiologist. She uses it for her studs, rings and pendants that don’t have their own chain. I think it’s neat

 

Plus, she stuck some pins into the foam (this is the same spongey foam that I used for my cardboard shoe) to hold the pendants attached to jump rings in place. Clever, ain’t she? I thought so

So I hope you enjoyed these few ideas for storing your jewellery? How do you store yours?

Leave a Reply

